Zero Inbox Without Hassle

3 min.

Summary

Often an ardent wish of most of the colleagues I know does not succeed. Many approaches lead to endless long to-do lists or parked mails in your inbox. With approaches like Getting-Things-Done (GTD) and other approaches, which are also applied to mail handling, additional software or other compromises are often involved. I have to say, I have my inboxes quite well under control and not the other way around. Some time ago I came across an approach by Luise Freese, which is very good but not completely suitable for my and probably many other colleagues. I need subfolders for my projects and don’t want to do several steps per mail. Therefore my suggestion is slightly modified and in my opinion simplified.

Objective of Zero Inbox

No mails in the inbox, grouping of tasks by context and the ability to find all mail immediately. Especially with the latter Outlook often plays tricks on me because the “Machine Learning” search results are not always correctly prioritized / sorted. Another reason why I still create folders in the project folder in Outlook.

Preperation

Create a _ReadMe and _ToDo folder below the inbox. The underscore is helpful, because then these folders are always on top, directly below the inbox. These folders can also be placed under “Favorites” (right-click, show in favorites).

Create categories in Outlook like @Phone @StandUpMeeting @Waiting.

Outlook-Categories

Next, expand the ribbon bar in Outlook:

Expand Ribbon Bar

Then we create so-called QuickSteps:

Set Up Quick Step

An example of one of the specified quicksteps:

Quick Step – Standup Meeting

In detail it is set as follows:

Quick Step StandUp Meeting Setting 1st Part.
Quick Step StandUp Meeting Setting 2nd Part.

The short text of the “standard reply mail” can be entered as follows:
“Hi, I would like to discuss / close this item in the next stand up meeting instead of having a further mail exchange.”

Another Quickstep can look like this:

Quick Step – To Do Next Week

with the “default mail text”: “Hello, Busy times these days. Just wanted to let you know that I already set a reminder for end of this week and will get back to you by then. If it is more urgent please chat with me on MS Teams.”

And then a Quickstep for completed tasks:

Quick Step – Closed Activities (Clear)

Finally, the following Quicksteps should be created in a modified form:

@Stand Up, @Wait, @Phone, News, Read, Do Today, Do Tomorrow, Do This Week, Do Next Week und Clear bzw. Close.

Have fun using it.

Barcamps without frustration

2 min.

Summary

If I was dissatisfied with Barcamps in the past, it was mostly because the session planning did not lead to full transparency for me. So I went to different sessions, which were a surprise for me regarding the format. I think it is important that it is very transparent for all participants, which format and which session has been planned. Sometimes the format develops differently during the session – that’s the great thing about barcamps – but the type of session makes it more secure to choose the “right” session.

How to make the session format transparent for everyone

That is why face2face barcamps should show these session types (and more) on every session card with abbreviations or even on a prepared card with checkbox option.

In the virtual barcamp this categorization should also be selectable on the virtual session card. For the 4th Barcamp “F├╝hrung im Projekt” 2020 this is how it will be:

Session-Card

with following categories:

  • Workshop = max. 10-minute presentation and subsequent joint elaboration, e.g. on the electronic Microsoft whiteboard or another jointly available electronic document stored in the Team SharePoint.
  • Problem definition = collegial consultation. I have a situation that I would like to reflect on and would like to receive input.
  • Impulse presentation = maximum 15 minutes of impulse presentation and then discussion.
  • Serious Game = Exercise / learning game with the aim of providing information and education. An authentic and credible, but also entertaining learning experience is the focus of interest.

The participants for the virtual Barcamp “Guided tour in the project” will use an online form before the Barcamp and also at the beginning of the Barcamp before the planning of the session to submit their session suggestions, which are then already categorized accordingly.
To ensure the documentation of the sessions, the integration of external tools (e.g. additional electronic whiteboards besides MS Whiteboard in the session) is not desired and not allowed due to data protection reasons.


Have fun at the next barcamp and choose the right sessions!

Zero Inbox

3 min.

Summary

Oft ein wohl sehnlicher Wunsch der bei den meisten mir bekannten Kollegen nicht gelingt. Viele Ansätze führen dazu, dass man endlose lange To-Do-Listen oder geparkte Mails im Posteingang vorhält. Mit Ansätzen wie Getting-Things-Done (GTD) und anderen Ansätzen, welche auch auf das Mail-Handling übertragen werden sind oft zusätzliche Software oder andere Kompromisse verbunden. Ich muss sagen, ich habe meine Posteingänge recht gut im Griff und nicht anders herum. Vor einiger Zeit ist mir ein Ansatz von Luise Freese über den Weg gelaufen, welcher sehr gut ist aber nicht für meine und wahrscheinlich für viele andere Kollegen und Kolleginnen vollständig passt. Ich benötige Unterordner für meine Projekte und will nicht pro Mail mehrere Schritte durchführen. Deshalb mein Vorschlag etwas abgewandelt und meiner Meinung nach vereinfacht.

Zielsetzung von Zero Inbox

Keine Mails im Posteingang, gruppieren von Aufgaben nach Kontext und die Möglichkeit alle Mail sofort zu finden. Vor allem beim letzteren spielt Outlook mir öfters Streiche weil die „Machine Learning“ Suchergebnisse nicht immer wirklich richtig priorisiert / sortiert sind. Ein weiterer Grund wieso ich weiterhin im Projekt Ordner in Outlook anlege.

Vorbereitung

Einen _ReadMe und _ToDo Ordner unterhalb des Posteingangs anlegen. Der Underscore ist hilfreich, weil dann diese Ordner immer oben, direkt unterhalb des Posteingangs liegen. Diese Ordner können auch unter „Favorites“ abgelegt werden (right-click, show in favorites).

Lege Kategorien in Outlook an wie @Phone @StandUpMeeting @Waiting.

Outlook-Kategorien

Als nächstes in Outlook das Ribbon Bar erweitern:

Ribbon Bar erweitern

Danach legen wir sogenannte QuickSteps an:

Quick Step anlegen

Ein Beispiel für einen der angegebenen Quicksteps:

Quick Step – Standup Meeting

Im Detail ist er wie folgt eingestellt:

Quick Step StandUp Meeting Einstellungen 1. Teil
Quick Step StandUp Meeting Einstellungen 2. Teil

Der kurze Text der „Standard-Antwortmail“ kann wie folgt erfasst werden:
„Hi, I would like to discuss / close this item in the next stand up meeting instead of having a further mail exchange.“

Ein weiterer Quickstep kann wie folgt aussehen:

Quick Step – To Do Next Week

mit dem „Standard-Mailtext“: „Hello, Busy times these days. Just wanted to let you know that I already set a reminder for end of this week and will get back to you by then. If it is more urgent please chat with me on MS Teams.“

Und dann noch einen Quickstep für erledigte Aufgaben:

Quick Step – Erledigte Aufgaben

Letztendlich sollten in abgewandelter Form folgende Quicksteps angelegt werden:

@Stand Up, @Wait, @Phone, News, Read, Do Today, Do Tomorrow, Do This Week, Do Next Week und Clear bzw. Close.

Viel Spaß beim Anwenden.

Barcamps ohne Frust

2 min.

Summary

Wenn ich bei Barcamps unzufrieden war in der Vergangenheit, dann lag es meist daran, dass die Sessionplanung für mich nicht zur vollen Transparenz geführt hat. Und ich daher in verschiedene Sessions gegangen bin, die dann bzgl. des Formates für mich eine Überraschung dargestellt haben. Ich empfinde es daher wichtig, dass es sehr transparent ist für alle TeilgeberInnen, welches Format, welche Session geplant hat. Manchmal entwickelt sich das Format während der Session anders als gedacht – das ist ja das Tolle an Barcamps –  aber der Sessiontyp sorgt für eine höhere Sicherheit die „richtige“ Session zu wählen.

Wie mache ich das Session-Format für jeden transparent 

Deshalb sollten bei face2face Barcamps auf jeder Sessionskarte diese Sessiontypen (und weitere) erkenntlich sein mit Kürzeln oder gar auf einem vorbereiten Karte mit Ankreuzoption.

Im virtuellen Barcamp sollte diese Kategorisierung auch auf der virtuellen Sessionskarte wählbar sein. Für das 4. Barcamp „Führung im Projekt“ 2020 sind dies dann so aus:

mit folgenden Kategorien:

  • Workshop = max 10 Minuten-Vortrag und anschließende gemeinsame Ausarbeitung z. B. am elektronischen Microsoft Whiteboard oder einem anderen gemeinsam zur Verfügung stehendem elektronischen Dokument, welches im Teams-SharePoint abgelegt ist.
  • Problemstellung = Kollegiale Beratung. Ich habe eine Situation, welche ich gerne reflektieren will und dazu gerne Input erhalten würde.
  • Impulsvortrag = maximal 15 Min Impuls-Vortrag und danach Diskussion.
  • Serious Game = Übung / Lernspiel mit dem Anliegen Information und Bildung zu vermitteln. Ein authentisches und glaubwürdiges, aber auch unterhaltendes Lernerlebnis steht im Mittelpunkt des Interesses.

Die Teilnehmer für das virtuelle Barcamp „Führung im Projekt“ werden über ein Onlineformular vor dem Barcamp und auch zu Beginn des Barcamps vor der Sessionsplanung Ihre Sessionvorschläge einstellen, welche dann bereits entsprechend kategorisiert sind.
Zur Sicherstellung der Dokumentation der Sessions ist eine Einbindung externer Tools (z. B. weitere elektronische Whiteboards neben MS Whiteboard in der Session) nicht gewünscht und aufgrund von Datenschutzgründen nicht erlaubt.
Viel Spaß beim nächsten Barcamp und beim Wählen der richtigen Sessions!